Gender, Place and Culture Welcomes New Book Review Editor, Dr. Marcia England

Dearest readers, today we are excited to introduce you to our new Book Review Editor, Dr. Marcia England, who has kindly shared the guest blog post below.
***
me.jpg

I’m excited to be a part of the Gender, Place and Culture (GPC) team as the new Book Review Editor. My first article was published in GPC, so it holds a special place in my academic history.

 I am looking forward to understanding more about the field of gendered and feminist geographies. I teach a geography and gender based course at Miami University, so it will be exciting to see new texts as they come in and read scholarly critiques of them.  I think it could be really invigorating to my own work as well as teaching. I would like to contribute to GPC through the promotion of new perspectives that energize geography and involve the contemplation of different outlooks. This is something that really calls to me.

My research centers on gendered and feminist geographies and always has.  I publish primarily on topics that intersect with gender and media, but other interests include body geographies and feminist urban politics. My 2006 GPC article published on representations of body and the home in horror films entitled “Breached bodies and home invasions: Horrific representations of the feminized body and home” was cited in a GPC Reflections piece in 2008 and included in the 2014 GPC reader.  I recently submitted a book manuscript on how gendered geographies manifest in media entitled Public privates:  Geographies of mediated spaces. I am currently working on a new project on reproductive geographies and how assisted reproductive technologies affect the body and socio-spatial understandings of conception and pregnancy. This is a brand new field for me and I’m having fun delving into new literature.

The editorial team has been very welcoming and the transition hopefully will be smooth.

Leave a Reply

